Diamond Certification: Everything You Need To Know

The Fifth C of Diamonds – Certification

When shopping for diamonds, most buyers focus on the four C’s – cut, clarity, color, and carat. But did you know there is a crucial fifth C that helps ensure you get the quality you pay for?

“Certification” – Certification authenticates a diamond’s attributes and is key to a sound purchase.

This article reveals what you should know about diamond certification:

  • which respected agencies grade stones
  • the stringent processes they use to grade diamonds
  • how certification verifies a diamond’s specs

With this insider knowledge, you can better navigate the market and walk away confident your diamond investment meets expectations. Read on to discover the power of diamond certification.

Diamond Certificates Authenticate Your Diamond

Having a certificate on your diamond verifies the other four c’s of carat weight, cut, clarity and color. Your diamond certificate will list these attributes about your diamond. The certificate will also contain a unique number, which is also engraved on the girdle of the diamond. The certificate ensures you that the diamond really has all the attributes that have been described to you by the salesperson. It gives you peace of mind and comes in handy if you ever sell the diamond.

Only Loose Diamonds are Certified

Diamonds are certified before being set, to allow the certifier to get the best look at the stone. However, you may purchase a certified diamond that has already been set into a piece of jewelry, or you may purchase from a jeweler that allows you to choose your diamond and setting separately.

There are Several Certifying Agencies

Several certifying agencies are used in the United States. The two most respected are:

If your diamond is certified by either of the agencies, you can feel confident in the certification. There is also a certifying agency in Europe, called the European Gemological Laboratory (EGL). This is a “for profit” company and is known for having a less stringent grading scale than the other agencies. Most reputable American jewelers avoid EGL graded diamonds.

GIA Certificate
AGS Certificate

The Process of Grading a Diamond is Stringent

If you buy a diamond certified from one of the two certifying agencies above, you can rest assured that the diamond has been through a very rigorous examination. The diamond is measured and weighed, as well as being closely examined using equipment that allows the examiner to see deeply into the diamond to evaluate color and clarity.

One thing the examiner does not do is assign your diamond a value. The current market in part determines diamond values, so these can fluctuate. For the value of your diamond, you need an appraisal, which is a totally separate process.

The Fifth C of Diamonds – Certification Ensures a Good Purchase

By choosing a certified diamond, you ensure that your diamond investment is sound. A certified diamond is guaranteed to be the weight, color, clarity and cut stated. A certified diamond is also marked for identification. You can register your diamond after purchase by putting the certification number in your name. This can help recover the diamond if it is ever lost or stolen.

Not every diamond you see in a store will have the fifth “C” of diamonds. Certification is not performed on every diamond sold in America. However, most reputable jewelers will carry some certified diamonds. Be certain to ask for this certification if you want to ensure the very best diamond purchase.

Where to next?

Carl A. Jones, GIA GG

Carl A. Jones is a GIA Graduate Gemologist with over 20 years of experience in the diamond industry. He is an independent jewelry appraiser. He specializes in determining the value of diamonds and advising consumers on how to buy quality diamond jewelry.

You May Also Like