The Four C’s of Diamonds – Cut

A diamond’s cut is the single biggest indicator of its sparkle. Of the four c’s of diamonds, cut is the most misunderstood. This is because we typically refer to a diamond’s shape as its cut. For example, a round diamond is called a “brilliant cut”, while a rectangular diamond is said to be “emerald cut”. What cut truly refers to is how ideally the diamond is cut to bring out its natural brilliance.

What is a Good Cut?

The determining factor in a grading a diamond’s cut is how well it reflects the light shining on it.  Cut grades are only used in reference to round (brilliant) and square (princess) diamonds. A diamond that is ideally cut to the perfect proportions sparkles more than a diamond of an inferior cut. Cutting to the perfect proportion ensures that light entering the diamond is reflected back out through the top. If a diamond’s cut is too shallow, light leaks out of the bottom. If the cut is too deep, light escapes from the sides.

Cut Grades

Cuts are actually graded to help you understand the quality of your diamond. There are five cut grades:

What Causes an Inferior Cut?

It might seem that inferior cut diamonds must have been cut by less talented cutters, but this is not the case. Diamonds are often cut to less than ideal proportions intentionally. This is usually done for one of two reasons:

How the Cut Affects Your Purchase

If you’re planning to purchase a round or square shaped diamond, pay attention to your diamond’s cut grade. It is important to buy the best overall diamond you can afford, but it is important to remember that the cut affects the diamond’s beauty more than any other element.

In fact, buying a smaller diamond in a better cut makes more sense than buying a larger diamond of an inferior cut. Here’s why:

The cut of your diamond is definitely one of its most important features. Choose a reputable jeweler who can help you find the perfect combination of all the “c’s” in your diamond.

Related Articles: