What Does GIA Diamond Certification Mean?

When purchasing a new diamond, it is important to make sure that you are getting a diamond that is the right quality. There are so many different types of grading systems out there for diamonds, but the GIA diamond certification is one of the best.

A GIA diamond certification will ensure that you are getting the exact quality of diamond that the jeweler says it is. GIA holds high standards for its grading, so the diamond will only get a grade that it really deserves, giving you peace of mind when you make a purchase.

Let’s take a closer look at the GIA diamond certification, how it works,  and what this means when you see it on any diamond that you want to purchase.

Understanding the GIA Certification

GIA, or Gemological Institute of America, is known throughout the world for its unbiased and comprehensive grading report and its consistency in grading diamonds and other gemstones. Rather than trusting what the jewelry store says about a diamond, you can look at the GIA certification to determine whether the diamond is good or not.

GIA was originally started in 1932. This institute has locations around the world and has worked hard over the years to standardize the grading found with diamonds in every industry. They are very exacting and strict in their process so if a diamond gets a certain rating, you know that it really deserved the grade.

Any time you purchase a GIA-certified diamond, you can have peace of mind knowing that you got the best quality for your purchase.

How GIA Diamonds are Graded

Diamonds are all unique and different from one another. The formation process takes a long time and can provide some distinctive parts to the stone. Any little change to how the diamond was exposed to the elements will change the features that the diamond has.

With this in mind, there are four different categories that a GIA specialist will look at when determining what grade to give to the diamond. These include the 4C’s, or the color, carat, cut, and clarity of the diamond:

  • Cut: The Cut is going to refer to the proportions and angles of the diamonds. Most experts of diamonds will recommend giving priority to the diamond cut more than the other three options.
  • Color: The diamond is graded on the lack of color found. Colorlessness is more valuable than one that has a tin of color inside of it.
  • Clarity: Clarity will refer to some of the inclusions or blemishes that you find inside the diamond. Often these are hard to see by the naked eye and will require the expert to use different tools to find them. Often the fewer flaws, the more valuable the diamond is.
  • Carat: This will be the weight of the diamond. Not all diamonds need to be large. But it is still part of the grading process.

When you get a certificate for these GIA-certified diamonds, you may be confused about how to read it. Not only will the report show the 4C’s that we discussed above, but they may include a few other aspects of the diamond including the fluorescence, symmetry, and polish. You may want to discuss each of these with your diamond expert to help see whether these are important or not.

Why is the GIA Certification Important?

The GIA certification is important because it tells you quite a bit about the diamond that you are working with. The jeweler may tell you a lot about the diamond and even have their own quality rating system. But since each jeweler can make up their own system for rating diamonds, it is often hard to know when a diamond is high quality or not.

The GIA grading system is standard, meaning it will stay the same no matter where the expert is when you get the diamond checked. This can help you know that you are getting the exact quality diamond that you want, no matter where you purchased it.

If you want a good diamond that is actually a good quality, always look for the GIA, or another popular grading system, certification to help you make smart decisions.

Choosing GIA Certification

When you want a great diamond that will last a long time, you need to make sure that you get one that is certified. The GIA certification is one of the best options to choose because they have high standards and will only give a diamond the grading it truly deserves.

There are also other grading systems (like AGS or IGI) that you can work with as well to ensure you get the right diamond for the right price.

See Also:

Carl A. Jones, GIA GG

Carl A. Jones is a GIA Graduate Gemologist with over 20 years of experience in the diamond industry. He is an independent jewelry appraiser. He specializes in determining the value of diamonds and advising consumers on how to buy quality diamond jewelry.

You May Also Like